The Book Life

Monkey Tea | April 13, 2011

It’s so hard to write poems about friendship.
What I want to say is simple,
it is “I love you” and “You’re wonderful,”
but this poem wants to be
more subtle than that.
So perhaps I’ll begin with an apology
for not remembering your name the first time we met.
I cataloged you in my phone by last name only
until I caught you introducing yourself
to someone else. By dinner three days later
we were exchanging gynecologist stories
and lamenting skinny jeans. Later,
(regarding your relative forwardness, your fearlessness)
you said “I just decided we were going to be friends.”
And I would just like to say that I am grateful.

1 Comment »

  1. but your write it beautifully.

    invite you sharing a free verse with poets rally today.…

    Hope to see you in!
    Have A Blessed Thursday!
    xxx

    Comment by Jingle — April 27, 2011 @ 11:48 pm


Leave a Reply

